Alexandra Dariescu @ Cheltenham Symphony Orchestra 2015

Data: 2015-02-28 19:30

Venue: Pittville Pump Room  |  Oraș: Cheltenham, United Kingdom

Cheltenham Symphony Orchestra
Alexandra Dariescu (piano) 
David Curtis (conductor) 

4 Norwegian Dances Op 35 - Edvard Grieg
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in A minor Op 16 - Edvard Grieg
Symphony No 1 in E minor Op 39 - Jean Sibelius

In this second concert of the Northern Lights series the CSO - Cheltenham's symphony orchestra - foray into the music of Edvard Grieg. The Norwegian Dances are both delicate and hugely energetic, just the thing to keep you warm on those long Scandinavian nights. They form a lively introduction to the Piano Concerto, a work both dramatic and lyrical whose attractions never fade. The orchestra will be joined by the brilliant young Romanian virtuoso, Alexandra Dariescu. Since her debut concert in the Royal Albert Hall in 2013 Alexandra has played with most of the major orchestra's both here and abroad.

The concert concludes with Sibelius's First Symphony, first performed in 1900 when the composer was 33. It is characterised by beautiful wind solos which offer the chance to delight in Cheltenham Symphony Orchestra's superlative wind section. Here are hints of what is to come in the composer's more mature years.


East Approach Drive, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire GL52 3JE
United Kingdom




Toate datele

  • 2015-02-28 19:30